Humanity is Lost

8:25 PM

Everyday before I go to work I say a short prayer for peace. I wish for peace in all aspects of my life, especially at work. I have lost hope in humanity and it’s lack of ability to be kind to one another.

7.4 billion people on this planet. All human beings with emotions and a past. Each one of us have our own story that few know from beginning to end. Knowing this fact, I would hope that all people would be forgiving and kind, but I have come to find that hoping for something like this is foolish.

I go to work behind an espresso bar for 6-8 hours a day with a smile on my face and hope in my heart. Hope that the human beings walking through the door are kind in their words and actions. Minutes into my shift I am reminded of the reality that humanity is unforgiving.

It only takes the smallest detail for a customer to have reason to yell, criticize, embarrass and humiliate myself or coworkers. We are students working to pay off our tuition and other bills, all while studying in varying areas, with the hope of changing the world in our own way.But when a fellow human being orders a drink and belittles another human being for a minor mistake, the only change we hope for is a change in customers’s attitude.

Saying thank you has always been important to me, especially as my parents instilled in me from a young age that doing so was the right thing to do. Ever since it has become second nature to me. But I have been shocked to find that I am one of very few people who use the word thank you. It is a rarity to have a customer look you in the eyes and genuinely tell you thank you, and when it does happen, you feel that you have made a difference in someone’s day, even if it was only for a moment.

My purpose of typing these words isn’t to whine about my day to day life as a worker in the service industry, it is a cry out to humanity to treat one another with kindness and respect. No cup of coffee is worth ruining someone’s day and taking a hit at their self esteem. Be the person that brightens even the most run down person. You never know how far a thank you can go until you have been thanked yourself.

Leave a Reply

