Assuming the best, getting the worst

8:32 PM

In my 21 years of life I have tried to assume the best of people. But moving out of my small town opened my eyes to the evils of this world. The man that I love today is the victim of these evils.

The relationships I have had in my entire life can be numbered on one hand, although the feelings involved in these “relationships” could never be counted numerically. I was never the person to bounce around from guy to guy, and in fact didn’t have my first “real” boyfriend until my freshman year of college. Relationships are a relatively new concept to me, but I am not blind to all that comes with making such a commitment. Sadly, the girls in my boyfriend’s past did not.

I am paying for the actions of these reckless and selfish girls, not women no matter their age, even though I have never been unfaithful to my boyfriend. It hurts me deeply to be questioned on the friendships I have, making me feel like I can’t be friends with guys. His view on what girls are like is completely warped and doesn’t represent the woman I am.

I respect myself and him on such a high level that I would never hurt him by being unfaithful in any sense. I am at a crossroads in my life. It is painful to receive the backlash of another person’s actions and I do not deserve to be put in the cross hairs.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

